Monday, April 1, 2013

Frozen Four Gets New Faces

It has been a long time since the doors to the NCAA hockey champions club have been this wide open entering the Frozen Four.
For the first time since 1958 — and only the second time since the tournament’s inaugural event — the Frozen Four will be made up of four teams all looking for their first national championship.
Yale, Massachusetts-Lowell, St. Cloud State and Quinnipiac earned trips to Pittsburgh for the 2013 Frozen Four by winning NCAA regional championships this weekend.
It’s a new-look group, to be sure.
Only Yale has ever been to the Frozen Four before, and that was a third-place finish in 1952.
Three teams will make their Frozen Four debuts at Consol Energy Center for the national semifinals on April 11. It’s the first time that’s happened in tournament history, excluding the inaugural event in 1948.
Both semifinals will be matchups of No. 1 regional seeds against No. 4s.
Massachusetts-Lowell, the top seed in the Northeast Regional, will play Yale out of the West Regional at 4:30 p.m. EDT in one semifinal; top overall seed Quinnipiac will face St. Cloud State at 8 p.m. EDT in the other.
Quinnipiac has to be the favorite, but anything can happen in a one and done playoff, just ask Yale and St. Cloud State.

No comments:

Post a Comment